Start > Ausstellungen > Koloman Moser. Universal Artist between Gustav Klimt and Josef Hoffmann

Museum Villa Stuck Museum Villa Stuck

23 May – 15 September 2019

Koloman Moser

Universal Artist between Gustav Klimt and Josef Hoffmann

The exceptional artist Koloman Moser (1868–1918) is one of the great visionaries of Viennese Modernism. The exhibition Koloman Moser: Universal Artist between Gustav Klimt and Josef Hoffmann encompasses like never before the enormous diversity of his creative output. It delves deep into the artist’s oeuvre and demonstrates just how instrumental he was in the search for a new, modern language of form in fin-de-siècle Vienna.

Koloman Moser’s oeuvre holds an enduring fascination to this day. As a universal artist, he mastered painting, graphic design, the applied arts and interior design as well as fashion and scenography. Moser exemplifies the Gesamtkunstwerk, or total work of art, propagated by the Vienna Succession, in an impressive way. He is regarded as one of the pioneers of Viennese Modernism, one of the most influential artists of Viennese Art Nouveau, and – alongside Gustav Klimt and Josef Hoffmann – one of the leading personalities of Vienna’s artistic renewal.

Many of the more than 600 exhibits, most of which originate from the MAK Collection in Vienna, are now being made accessible to the public for the very first time. Structured in six sections, the exhibition presents the comprehensive oeuvre of Koloman Moser against the backdrop of the developments in art theory in Vienna from 1860 to 1918. Curated by Christian Witt-Dörring and Elisabeth Schmuttermeier, it reveals a chronology of each stage of Moser’s unusual career: from painter to all-round designer and, ultimately, back to painting. Reviewed by Daniela Franke and Kurt Ifkovits of the Theatermuseum in Vienna, Moser’s work for the stage, moreover, complements the unique reflection of Moser’s complete works in Villa Stuck.

Two publications are released for the exhibition: Koloman Moser: Universal Artist between Gustav Klimt and Josef Hoffmann (MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna) and Anwendungen. Koloman Moser und die Bühne (Theatermuseum Wien).

#KolomanMoserMVS

Start > Ausstellungen > Koloman Moser. Universalkünstler zwischen Gustav Klimt und Josef Hoffmann

Museum Villa Stuck Museum Villa Stuck

23. Mai – 15. September 2019

Koloman Moser

Universalkünstler zwischen Gustav Klimt und Josef Hoffmann

Der Ausnahmekünstler Koloman Moser (1868–1918) zählt zu den großen Visionären der Wiener Moderne. In einem nie zuvor dagewesenen Umfang präsentiert die Ausstellung »Koloman Moser. Universalkünstler zwischen Gustav Klimt und Josef Hoffmann« die enorme Vielseitigkeit seines Gesamtwerks. Sie taucht tief in das Œuvre des Künstlers ein und zeigt auf, wie entscheidend dieser die Suche nach einer neuen, modernen Formensprache in Wien um 1900 mitgeprägt hat.

Das Gesamtwerk Koloman Mosers fasziniert bis heute. Als Universalkünstler beherrscht er die Disziplinen Malerei, Grafik, Kunstgewerbe und Innenraumgestaltung ebenso wie Mode und Bühnenbild. Das von der Wiener Secession propagierte Gesamtkunstwerk lebt Moser in beeindruckender Weise vor. Er gilt als einer der Wegbereiter der Wiener Moderne, als einer der einflussreichsten Künstler des Wiener Jugendstils und zählt neben Gustav Klimt und Josef Hoffmann zu den führenden Persönlichkeiten des Wiener Kunstfrühlings.

Viele der über 600 Exponate, die zum großen Teil aus der Sammlung des MAK in Wien stammen, werden erstmals der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Vor dem Hintergrund der kunsttheoretischen Entwicklungen in Wien von 1860 bis 1918 führt die Ausstellung in sechs Kapiteln das umfangreiche Gesamtwerk von Koloman Moser vor Augen. Die von Christian Witt-Dörring und Elisabeth Schmuttermeier kuratierte Ausstellung lässt dabei chronologisch jede Etappe von Mosers ungewöhnlichem Werdegang Revue passieren: vom Maler zum Allround-Gestalter und schließlich wieder zurück zur Malerei. Hinzu kommt Mosers Werk für die Bühne, das von Daniela Franke und Kurt Ifkovits aus dem Theatermuseum in Wien aufgearbeitet wurde und im Museum Villa Stuck die Betrachtung von Mosers Gesamtwerk auf einzigartige Weise komplementiert.

Eine Ausstellung des MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, und des Theatermuseums Wien in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum Villa Stuck.

Folgen Sie uns auch unter: #KolomanMoserMVS